King Size Taylor – Dr. Feelgood


Following compilations of Tommy Steele and Billy Fury, Bear Family Records have continued their ‘The Brits Are Rocking’ with an album of material by King Size Taylor. Ted ‘King Size’ Taylor and his band The Dominoes formed in Liverpool and became popular in Hamburg following regular performances at venues including The Star Club. Mainly comprises recordings made for Ariola and Polydor (as the Shakers) in Germany between 1962 and 1964; Is this album worth picking up?

The songs featured here are predominantly covers, including many standards such as Money, Long Tall Sally, Dizzy Miss Lizzy, Twist And Shout, Hippy Hippy Shake, Slippin’ and Slidin’ and Memphis Tennessee. Many of the era’s bands performed much of the material, but Taylor and his band make them sound fresh. His music features an eclectic vocal that jumps between roaring, soulful and falsetto frequently, and a tight Merseybeat backing; tied together by a driving saxophone. It is no wonder they backed many of Rock-and-Roll’s great artists, there is a clear authenticity in their performance that is infectious; proven through some of the astonishingly good quality live recordings presented here. Other highlights include the soulful Stupidity, toe-tapping Domino Twist and the fun Mashed Potatoes And Hot Pastrami.

Sound Quality

The production is typical of the early 1960s, with instruments allocated to specific left and right channels; A few compilations have presented these tracks riddled with digital artefacts and hiss, but not here. Boasting exceptionally high sound quality on most tracks, these recordings have possibly never sounded better. The additional four 1958s home recordings lack the clarity of the professional live and studio tracks, but are listenable; Taylor’s vocals piercing through the instrumentation.

Something Extra…

Inside a standard CD case is a 36-page booklet comprising a biography, rare photographs, and discography. With liner notes provided by British Rock ‘n’ Roll expert Andrew Wood, it contains an extensive amount of detail from Taylor. For fans and newcomers, the amount of information is superb.


Save for the well-known connection to the Beatles, his name was unfamiliar to me. Bear Family Records have compiled a long-overdue album dedicated to King Size Taylor, it was worth the wait. The legacy of this man as a performer often seems overshadowed by his contemporaries but I consider that mistake now corrected through this addition to the Brits Are Rocking series. If you’re interested in this era and want to discover something new through a familiar lens, this is perfect.


  1. Heeby Jeebies
  2. All Around The World
  3. Dr. Feelgood
  4. She Said Yeah
  5. Hippy Hippy Shake
  6. Hello Josephine
  7. Slow Down
  8. Sweet Little Sixteen
  9. Never In A Hundred Years
  10. Money
  11. Bad Boy
  12. Sherry Baby
  13. Whole Lot Of Lovin’
  14. Stupidity
  15. Long Tall Sally
  16. Domino Twist
  17. Short On Love
  18. Memphis, Tennessee
  19. Mashed Potatoes and Hot Pastrami
  20. Lipstick, Powder and Paint
  21. Slippin’ And Slidin’
  22. Twist And Shout
  23. Dizzy Miss Lizzy
  24. I Can Tell
  25. The Fortune Teller
  26. You Can’t Sit Down
  27. I’m Late
  28. Sad And Blue
  29. Saw My Baby With Another Guy
  30. Matchbox
  31. Good Golly Miss Molly

Dr. Feelgood by King Size Taylor is Available from Bear Family Records.

King Size Taylor - Dr Feelgood




Jamie Dyer

Jamie Dyer is an experienced writer, broadcaster, musician and social media marketer. He enjoys Old Time Radio, vintage TV, collecting vinyl and supporting the New York Knicks.

Next Post

Destination Lust - The World Of Love, Sex and Violence

Sat Mar 28 , 2020
Bear Family Records have released a brand new compilation themed around love and eroticism. Destination Lust: The World of Love, Sex and Violence features the naughty, the erotic and the […]

You May Like